Madera race produces two big winners

MADERA, California (October 7, 2017) – There were two winners Saturday night at Madera Speedway. Linny White won the Lucas Oil 75 presented by K&N Filters and Taylor Miinch won the championship of the Lucas Oil Modified Series presented by RAM Mounts.

White, who twice had been a runner-up on Madera’s fast 1/3-mile oval, this time got to the checkered flag .413 seconds ahead of Miinch after taking the lead from Trevor Cristiani with 17 laps to go. White had to endure the final two of five caution restarts and an 11-lap sprint to the finish during which his main worry, he said, was "trying to limp the car to the end.

"With about 20 to go the rear end started clanking and trying to lock up, but it made it all the way to the end."

White qualified fifth and started fourth in his Pinnacle Peak Steakhouse/Earl Robbins/Reeves Complete Auto Care Phil’s Phabrication Chevrolet and never was lower than fourth while Cristiani battled Blake Rogers and Jason Irwin for the lead. Rogers retired from the fray when he got clipped by another car and hit the wall with enough force to destroy his car, and a short time later Cristiani, Irwin and Dylan Cappello got into a debate that enabled White to take the lead.

"It was just a racing deal," White said of the get-together. "I saw it happen and was able to get slowed up" and get through the trouble spot with no damage.

The win was the third in the Lucas Oil Modified Series for White, who was feeling nauseous after the race.

Miinch, who started seventh and was as far back as 10th in the 23-car field at the halfway point, moved into the top five for good on lap 57 and took second away from Tellstrom with 15 laps to go. He wasn’t able to pressure White during the closing laps and wasn’t upset by that at all.

"I was racing Tellstrom very, very hard for second, that was 100 percent," Miinch said. "At the end, with Linny, I was racing him but not enough to maybe get into him."

The second-place finish extended Miinch’s streak of finishing fourth or better to 15 races over two seasons. That includes three wins, three seconds and three thirds this year, and with his latest runner-up effort Miinch has clinched the series championship he missed by 4 points last season.

The 23-year-old father of two from Blossom Valley, California, has an insurmountable 96-point lead over 2014 champion Dylan Cappello with one race to go and a maximum of 77 points available.

That’s not bad for a driver and team who began the season wondering how many races they might be able to run, if any.

"Yeah, it was great," Miinch said. "Sponsorship came on board (from Zotto Mattress, Lineer Lucas Oil and Viejas Casino & Resort) and we were able to run every race."

Miinch said they’re not just going to make a ceremonial appearance in the finale at Havasu 95 Speedway, either.

"We're going to show up," he said with a laugh. "We like Havasu, we run good, and we want to get a win there."

The teams now have three weeks to prepare for the championship season finale, the DJ Safety 100 Championship presented by Hoosier Tire West October 28 at Havasu 95 Speedway in Lake Havasu City, Arizona.

Madera Speedway, Madera, California
.333-mile paved oval
Saturday, October 7, 2017

MAIN EVENT (75 lap)

  1. Linny White (99), Colton, Ca.
  2. Taylor Miinch (4T), Blossom Valley, Ca.
  3. Kyle Tellstrom (5K), Ukiah, Ca.
  4. Wes Miller (87), Turlock, Ca.
  5. Jim Mardis (51), Yucaipa, Ca.
  6. Eric Hamilton (11H), Hanford, Ca.
  7. Shelby Stroebel (24), Meridian, Idaho
  8. Mike Mitchell (77), Loomis, Ca.
  9. Chris Cook (2), Tabiona, Utah
  10. William Guevara (55), Lake Havasu City, Az.
  11. Mike Regelman (57), Ripon, Ca.
  12. Mark Allison (115), Las Vegas
  13. Dave Arce (5) Santee, Ca.
  14. Dustin Tilbury (17D), Edgewood, N.M.
  15. Cody Kay (2K), Sparks, Nevada
  16. Jeremy Kay (1), Sparks, Nevada
  17. Eddie Secord (84), Oak Hills, Ca.
  18. Michael Womack (3), Troutman, N.C.
  19. Jason Irwin (9X), Albuquerque, N.M.
  20. Trevor Cristiani (90), Boise, Idaho
  21. Dylan Cappello (11), Peoria, Az.
  22. Scott Winters (24A), Tracy, Ca.
  23. Blake Rogers (4B), Yuma, Az.
  24. P.J. Pedroncelli (33), Sonoma, Ca., DSNS.

Margin of victory – 0.413 seconds. Lead changes – 1 among 2 drivers. Caution flags – 5. Fast qualifier – Winters, 14.761 seconds. Trophy Dash winner (6 laps) – White.

Next Event

Havasu 95 Speedway
October 27, 2018

Quality Inn & Suites

271 Lake Havasu Ave. South
Lake Havasu City, AZ 86403

Phone: 1-928-855-1111
Code: Lucas Oil Modifieds
Rate: $65 Plus Tax
Cut off date: Oct. 22nd.

Las Vegas Motor Speedway - Bullring
November 17, 2018

Arizona Charlie’s Boulder

Arizona Charlie’s Boulder
4575 Boulder Hwy.
Las Vegas, NV 89121

Phone: 800-362-4040
Code: C-LOM11
Thursday Rate: $35 Plus Tax
Friday/Saturday Rate: $65 Plus Tax


*  First Name:
*  Last Name:
*  Email Address: